History Embalmed

Second Intermediate Period

The significant Events, Achievements and People of Second Intermediate era are as follows:

  • Hyksos raiders a Semetic race from Asia led by Amenemhat III gained power and moved into the Delta and introduced the Egyptians to the chariot
  • Egypt was ruled by foreign kings for almost a hundred years
  • These Asian kings were called 'Heka-Khaswt' meaning "Rulers of the Foreign Lands" which were eventually called the  Hyksos by the Greeks
  • A crocodile-god was worshipped at this time
  • Egyptians were treated with cruel hostility and treated as slaves
  • In 1550 BC and Egyptian general called Amosis defeated the Hyksos and founded the Eighteenth Dynasty bringing the era of the New Kingdom to Egypt
  • The Seventeenth Dynasty from Thebes finally defeated the Hyksos and reunited Egypt.

Second Intermediate Period - Dates and Time Period

The time period covering the Second Intermediate era is 1782 BC - 1570 BC.

Second Intermediate Period - The Dynasties
The names of the dynasties spanning Second Intermediate era were:

  • 14th - 17th Egyptian Dynasties

The names of the Pharaohs who ruled during these dynasties of Second Intermediate Period are detailed below.

Second Intermediate Period - The Pharaohs
The names give to the Pharaohs of Second Intermediate era are as follows:

List of the names of the Pharaohs of the 14th - Fourteenth Egyptian Dynasty
  • Nehesey (or Nehesi) the name means 'Nubian'

Pharaohs of the 15th - Fifteenth Egyptian Dynasty

  • Salitis
  • Sakir-Har
  • Khyan c. 1620 BC
  • Apepi I c. 1580 BC - 1540 BC
  • Apepi II c. 1550 BC - 1540 BC
  • Khamudi c. 1540 BC - 1534 BC

Pharaohs of the 16th - Sixteenth Egyptian Dynasty

  • Anat-her
  • User-anat
  • Semqen
  • Zaket
  • Wasa
  • Qar
  • Pepi III
  • Bebankh
  • Nebmaatre
  • Nikare II
  • Aahotepre
  • Nubankhre
  • Nubuserre
  • Khauserre
  • Khamure
  • Jacob-Baal
  • Yakbam/Sekkhaenre
  • Amu

Pharaohs of the 17th - Seventeenth Egyptian Dynasty

  • Rahotep Sekhemrewahkhaw
  • Sobekemsaf I Sekhemreshedtawy
  • Antef VI Sekhemrewepmaat
  • Antef VII Nebkheperre
  • Intef VIII Sekhemreherhermaat
  • Sobekemsaf II Sekhemrewadjkhaw 1566 BC-1559 BC
  • Tao I the Elder Senakhtenre 1559 BC-1558 BC
  • Tao II the Brave Seqenenre 1558 BC-1554 BC
  • Kamose 1554 BC-1549 BC

Second Intermediate Period
The time span of Ancient Egypt history, which includes the period of Second Intermediate Period, stretches over 3000 years and encompasses hundreds of Pharaohs. Because of this massive time span and timeline Egyptologists have divided the different historical times into Periods, Kingdoms and Dynasties:

  • Definition of Kingdoms - Politically organized communities with a monarchical form of government headed by a King, Queen or Pharaoh
  • Definition of Dynasties - Egyptian dynasties were  families which retained political power across generations
  • Definition of Periods - A distinct evolutionary or developmental phase in Egypt, such as the period of Second Intermediate Period
  • Definition of Intermediate Periods - The time between the end of an old period or Kingdom to the start of a new period or Kingdom, allowing for possible anomalies in dates

Timelines and Second Intermediate Period
Our Egyptian Timelines provide a time driven list Ancient Egyptian pharaohs, periods, kingdoms and dynasties provide the generally accepted dates of each of these times - a chronology or list of dates of all the periods, kingdoms and dynasties of Egypt. So if you are interested in Second Intermediate era then the important people and events, via a simple timeline, charting the key dates in Ancient Egyptian history will prove to be interesting.

Pharaohs Timeline
Ancient Egyptian Timeline

Ancient Egyptian Dynasties

King Tut Index
Ancient Egypt History

Privacy Statement

Cookie Policy

2017 Siteseen Ltd