History Embalmed

New Kingdom

Significant Historical Events and Achievements

The significant Events, Achievements and People of New Kingdom are as follows:

  • The building of the tombs of the Valley of Kings
  • The great Pharaohs included Queen Hatshepsut (the famous female Pharaoh), Akhenaten, Tutankhamun, Tuthmose and Ramses II
  • King Akhenaten established a new religious order worshipping the sun god Aten
  • King Thutmose III 1479 -1425and Ancient Egypt reached the height of its power when military expeditions brought the eastern coast of the Mediterranean Sea under Egyptian rule

New Kingdom - Dates and Time Period

The time period covering New Kingdom is 1570 BC - 1070 BC. This is the era in Ancient Egypt with which most of us are familiar because of the famous Pharaohs who reigned during this era including King Tut.

New Kingdom - The Dynasties
The names of the dynasties spanning New Kingdom were:

  • 18th - 20th - Egyptian Dynasties

The names of the Pharaohs who ruled during these dynasties of New Kingdom are detailed below.

New Kingdom - The Pharaohs
The names give to the Pharaohs of New Kingdom are as follows:

List of the names of the Pharaohs of the 18th - Eighteenth Egyptian Dynasty
  • Ahmose I 1550 -1525
  • Amenhotep I 1525 -1504
  • Thutmose I 1504 -1492
  • Thutmose II 1492 -1479
  • Thutmose III 1479 -1425
  • Queen Hatshepsut 1472 -1457
  • Amenhotep II 1425 -1399
  • Thutmose IV 1399 -1389
  • Amenhotep III 1389 -1351
  • Akhenaten 1351 -1337
  • Smenkhkare 1336 -1334
  • Tutankhamun 1334 -1325
  • Kheperkheprure Ay 1325 -1321
  • Horemheb 1321 -1292

Pharaohs of the 19th - Nineteenth Egyptian Dynasty

  • Ramses I 1292 BC 1290 BC
  • Seti I 1290 BC 1279 BC
  • Ramses II aka Ramses the Great 1279 BC 1213 BC
  • Merneptah 1213 BC 1203 BC
  • Amenmesse 1203 BC 1199 BC
  • Seti II 1199 BC 1193 BC
  • Siptah 1193 BC 1187 BC

Pharaohs of the 20th - Twentieth Egyptian Dynasty

  • Setnakhte 1186 BC 1182 BC
  • Ramses III 1182 BC 1151 BC
  • Ramses IV 1151 BC 1145 BC
  • Ramses V 1145 BC 1141 BC
  • Ramses VI 1141 BC 1133 BC
  • Ramses VII 1133 BC 1125 BC
  • Ramses VIII 1125 BC 1124 BC
  • Ramses IX 1124 BC 1106 BC
  • Ramses X 1106 BC 1102 BC
  • Ramses XI 1102 BC 1069 BC

New Kingdom
The period of Ancient Egypt history, which includes the period of New Kingdom, stretches over 3000 years and encompasses hundreds of Pharaohs. Because of this massive time span and timeline Egyptologists have divided the different historical times into Periods, Kingdoms and Dynasties:

  • Definition of Kingdoms - Politically organized communities with a monarchical form of government headed by a King, Queen or Pharaoh
  • Definition of Dynasties - Egyptian dynasties were  families which retained political power across generations
  • Definition of Periods - A distinct evolutionary or developmental phase in Egypt, such as the period of New Kingdom
  • Definition of Intermediate Periods - The time between the end of an old period or Kingdom to the start of a new period or Kingdom, allowing for possible anomalies in dates

Timelines and New Kingdom
Our Egyptian Timelines provide a time driven list Ancient Egyptian pharaohs, periods, kingdoms and dynasties provide the generally accepted dates of each of these times - a chronology or list of dates of all the periods, kingdoms and dynasties of Egypt. So if you are interested in New Kingdom then the important people and events, via a simple timeline, charting the key dates in Ancient Egyptian history will prove to be interesting.

Pharaohs Timeline
Ancient Egyptian Timeline
Ancient Egyptian Dynasties
King Tut Index
Ancient Egypt History

Privacy Statement

Cookie Policy

2017 Siteseen Ltd